Video Game Previews and Impressions

Game Previews - Page 1

Looking for the latest game previews? We've got you covered with regular and consistent previews of new and upcoming games of all sizes! You can also check out our tabletop previews if you're looking for a new game for your group!


The protagonist looks at a supernatural anomaly in Stalker 2: Heart of Chornobyl
Preview

Stalker 2: Heart of Chornobyl Preview – Get in the Zone

We got our hands on Stalker 2: Heart of Chornobyl at Summer Game Fest, and it brought me into a dreary world filled with intrigue.

June 17, 2024 | 10:05 EDT

Header image for Rusty Rabbit.
Preview

The Lore Behind Rusty Rabbit is Absolutely Nuts

Gen Urobuchi, creator behind famous anime properties like Psycho-Pass and Fate/Zero, tells us all about his upcoming game, Rusty Rabbit.

June 16, 2024 | 01:57 EDT

Preecha does her entrance pose in Fatal Fury: City of the Wolves
Preview

Fatal Fury: City of the Wolves Preview – Revved Up and Ready

Fatal Fury: City of the Wolves is the first Fatal Fury game from SNK in over two decades. We got to play an early version of it, and it's definitely worth getting excited about.

June 15, 2024 | 10:00 EDT

Super Saiyan God Goku rushes toward the camera in Dragon Ball: Sparking! Zero
Preview

Dragon Ball: Sparking! Zero Preview – To Go Even Further Beyond

Even if you've seen Goku beat Frieza 20 times, Dragon Ball: Sparking! Zero offers a compelling case for seeing it happen a 21st time.

June 13, 2024 | 10:00 EDT

Shadow faces down Doom's Eye in Sonic x Shadow Generations
Preview

Sonic x Shadow Generations Preview - Crush 40 Intensifies

Sonic x Shadow Generations comes with a bunch of new content for everyone's favorite edgehog. But does it live up to the quality of Sonic Generations?

June 13, 2024 | 09:30 EDT

Super Monkey Ball Banana Rumble header image.
Preview

Super Monkey Ball Banana Rumble Preview - Fans'll go Bananas

Super Monkey Ball Banana Rumble marks the return of a cherished series, and we got to play it.

June 13, 2024 | 09:00 EDT

A large red bird with a child on its back being followed by a colorful bunch of flying creatures.
Preview

Flock Preview - Wholesome, Wonderful, Whimsy

Flock is a wholesome game that just wants to see you relax amongst the comfy clouds and critters of its world. It's beautiful, charming, and full of reverie.

June 13, 2024 | 08:30 EDT

The player character braces themself against an enemy in New World: Aeternum
Preview

New World: Aeternum Preview - It's Still an MMO

New World: Aeternum is the recently announced enhanced edition for Amazon's MMO that's trying not to be an MMO anymore.

June 13, 2024 | 08:00 EDT

A hunter winds up to attack a monster in Monster Hunter Wilds
Preview

Monster Hunter Wilds Preview – Wildly Impressive

We got to see exclusive gameplay of Monster Hunter Wilds at Summer Game Fest, and it has us deeply excited for what's in store in 2025.

June 12, 2024 | 11:00 EDT

A man with white hair blocking the sword attack of a woman with his sword.
Preview

Phantom Blade Zero Preview - A Blast of Fast-Paced Action

Phantom Blade Zero has had some bonkers trailers since it was revealed, and I can say the game lives up to the vibe it was putting out. Don't go in expecting a soulslike, however.

June 12, 2024 | 09:00 EDT

Two large armies crash in the middle of the screen with bullets, lasers, and missiles flying everywhere.
Preview

Battle Aces Preview - An RTS That Gets Straight to the Point

Battle Aces is an RTS that will satisfy genre veterans and entice new players to the genre. It is fast-paced, tactically deep, and never has a dull moment.

June 12, 2024 | 08:30 EDT

Marvel Rivals Preview Header Image
Preview

Marvel Rivals Preview - Out for Overwatch's Crown

Marvel Rivals is an upcoming, third-person hero shooter full of characters we all know and love.

June 12, 2024 | 08:00 EDT

A party of adventurers stands before a large roaring dragon.
Preview

Dragon Age: The Veilguard Preview - Epic Fantasy Action at its Peak

We saw the first hour of Dragon Age: The Veilguard at Summer Game Fest and it blew us away. Good bye tactical gameplay, hello action RPG.

June 11, 2024 | 11:00 EDT

Kunitsu-Gami: Path of the Goddess header image
Preview

Kunitsu-Gami: Path of the Goddess is a Strange, Beautiful Twist of Genres

Kunitsu-Gami: Path of the Goddess is a new action and strategy title from Capcom, and we got to play it.

June 11, 2024 | 11:00 EDT

Hyper Light Breaker header image for preview article.
Preview

Hyper Light Breaker Preview - Your Next Roguelite Addiction

Hyper Light Breaker is an upcoming roguelite action title that you'll definitely want to keep your eyes on.

June 11, 2024 | 10:00 EDT

The player character leaps at an enemy in Enotria: The Last Song
Preview

Enotria: The Last Song Preview – Put It on Repeat

Enotria: The Last Song was playable at Summer Game Fest Play Days, and while it was difficult, it didn't discourage me from wanting even more.

June 11, 2024 | 09:00 EDT

Header image for Metaphor: ReFantazio.
Preview

Metaphor: ReFantazio Preview - Worthy of Atlus' 35th Anniversary

We got some hands-on time with the highly anticipated upcoming JPRG, Metaphor: ReFantazio.

June 11, 2024 | 08:00 EDT

Assassin's Creed Shadows SGF preview image
Preview

Assassin’s Creed Shadow’s Dual Protagonists Open Up a World of Possibilities

The different playstyles of Yasuke and Naoe of Assassin's Creed Shadows means your experience can vary greatly.

June 10, 2024 | 04:05 EDT

A space ship shooting lasers with a TIE Fighter on the right side of the screen.
Preview

Star Wars Outlaws Preview - Finally a Galaxy Full of Scum and Villainy

Star Wars Outlaws is to fans of the series' lovable scoundrels as the Star Wars Jedi series is to lightsaber lovers. Here's our hands-on preview!

June 10, 2024 | 04:00 EDT

grit and Valor header image for preview
Preview

Grit and Valor - 1949 is a Strategy Gamer's Delight

In this take on alternate history, Grit and Valor - 1949 is sure to delight the strategy fan in you.

June 10, 2024 | 08:00 EDT

Skydance's Behemoth Keyart
Preview

Skydance's Behemoth Preview - Into the Great Wide Open

We've got the first look at Skydance's Behemoth - an adventure game looking to push the limits of immersive storytelling through VR.

June 4, 2024 | 10:00 EDT

Riven Preview Keyart
Preview

Riven Preview - Everything Old is New Again

We take a look at the upcoming Riven remake - a fully retooled 3D adventure aiming to satisfy those who want to play the game for the first time all over again.

June 3, 2024 | 10:00 EDT

Anger Foot preview header image
Preview

Anger Foot's Twisted World is a Frenetic, Wild Ride

We get another look at Free Lives and Devolver's Anger Foot, and it's looking crazier than ever.

May 31, 2024 | 12:00 EDT

Selaco preview header image
Preview

Selaco Sets a New Standard for the FPS Genre

The long-awaited FPS Selaco, running on the GZDoom engine, is finally out in Early Access, and it's even better than we thought.

May 31, 2024 | 10:00 EDT

A city in Frostpunk 2 densly packed with smoke and snow
Preview

Frostpunk 2 Story Preview - I'm Bad At This, The City Will Definitely Fall

Frostpunk 2 expands the setting of the original, putting you in the role of the Captain's successor can you continue to lead New England to greatness?

May 27, 2024 | 09:00 EDT

The Prince sliding down an aqueduct slope in The Rogue Prince of Persia
Preview

The Rogue Prince of Persia Is Roguelite Precision Platforming at Its Finest

The Rogue Prince of Persia is former Dead Cells studio Evil Empire's take on Ubisoft's legendary franchise, but will it earn its place in the pantheon?

May 27, 2024 | 03:00 EDT

Jan greeting another Alter in The Alters from 11Bit Studios
Preview

The Alters Preview - Resource Management On A Smaller Scale

The Alters is an upcoming narrative strategy game from 11Bit where you play a stranded astronaut who needs to make Alters of himself to survive.

May 24, 2024 | 09:00 EDT

Monster Hunter Stories 2 Preview Art
Preview

Monster Hunter Stories 2 Preview: Hands-on With the PlayStation 4 Port

We go hands-on with the early hours of the PlayStation 4 release of Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin as the Stories series makes its double debut on PlayStation platforms.

May 20, 2024 | 11:26 EDT

Monster Hunter Stories Preview Art
Preview

Monster Hunter Stories Preview: Exploring the PS4 Remaster

We go hands-on with the remastered version of Monster Hunter Stories - the first entry in the Stories spin-off revamped for PC, Nintendo Switch, and PlayStation 4.

May 20, 2024 | 11:00 EDT

Key art of Fishbowl
Preview

Fishbowl Is a Touching Coming-of-Age Story

Fishbowl is a coming-of-age story based in India about Alo, a twenty-one year-old grappling with a new job while grieving the loss of her grandmother.

May 9, 2024 | 02:56 EDT

No Rest for the Wicked header image for preview.
Preview

No Rest for the Wicked has the Bones of a Great Game

We take a gander at the Early Access for Moon Studios' latest title, No Rest for the Wicked.

April 26, 2024 | 02:20 EDT

Promo image of Melinoe from Hades II, standing in a black void surrounded by magical glyphs in dark green flame.
Preview

Hades II Is A Brilliant Step Forward For Supergiant Games' First Sequel

We had some time to check out an early version of Supergiant Games' highly anticipated sequel, Hades II, and see how it builds on the original's foundation.

April 23, 2024 | 09:17 EDT

The Rogue Prince of Persia Key Art with TechRaptor Preview Label
Preview

The Rogue Prince of Persia Is Another Stellar AA Addition To the Prince of Persia Franchise

The Rogue Prince of Persia is a new Roguelike from the developers of Dead Cells expanded content and it's coming very soon to Steam Early Access.

April 10, 2024 | 01:45 EDT

A hero riding a giant fox in Visions of Mana
Preview

Visions of Mana Preview - Get Lost in Colorful Landscapes

Check out our Visions of Mana preview from PAX East 2024! We got the chance to go hands-on with Visions of Mana ahead of its release date.

March 28, 2024 | 09:00 EDT

Looking down at Arrakis from a spaceship in Dune: Awakening
Preview

Dune: Awakening Hands-Off Preview - An Epic MMO In the Making

The TechRaptor team got to take a look at a Dune: Awakening preview at PAX East 2024. Check out what we thought of the Dune: Awakening gameplay and classes.

March 27, 2024 | 11:00 EDT

Lightning attacks in Path of Exile 2
Preview

Path of Exile 2 Hands-on Preview - The Next Great Action RPG

Check out our Path of Exile 2 preview! We got to experience Path of Exile 2 gameplay at PAX East 2024 and played through an early mission. Read more.

March 23, 2024 | 10:05 EDT

Frogs living happily in a sanctuary in Kamaeru: A Frog Refuge
Preview

Kamaeru: A Frog Refuge Preview - Eco-Conservation & Cozy Frogs

Take a look at our Kamaeru: A Frog Refuge preview from PAX East 2024. We got hands-on Kamaeru: A Frog Refuge gameplay and spoke with the developers.

March 22, 2024 | 01:27 EDT

Path of Exile 2 Preview Art
Preview

Path of Exile 2 Hands-Off Preview - Introducing the Ranger Class and Path of Exile 3.24

We got eyes on the latest look at the Ranger class for Path of Exile 2, as well as learn key details about Path of Exile's next expansion.

March 21, 2024 | 05:16 EDT

A player can be seen standing on their mech.
Preview

Lightyear Frontier Preview - The Smoothest Survival Game Of 2024

Lightyear Frontier continues a trend of excellent 2024 survival games by being fun, looking gorgeous, and running almost flawlessly.

March 15, 2024 | 10:00 EDT

Winter Survival Preview - Cover Image Dead Parachutist Hanging from a Tree in the Woods
Preview

Winter Survival Preview - A Pure Survival Experience

Winter Survival promises to deliver a challenging survival experience and an interesting story to match. Read our preview to find out more!

March 8, 2024 | 01:54 EST

Nightingale Preview - Cover Image Bound Strangeness Inside of a Gloom Site of Power
Preview

Nightingale Preview - Long Load Times and Odd Design Choices

Does Nightingale's realm-hopping gameplay (and server infrastructure) live up to Inflexion Games' grand designs? Read our preview to find out more!

February 26, 2024 | 03:57 EST

Deep Rock Galactic: Survivor Preview - Cover Image Gunner Shooting at Stabber Vines
Preview

Deep Rock Galactic: Survivor Preview - Diving Into a New Genre

Deep Rock Galactic: Survivor is a good first step for adapting the Deep Rock Galactic universe to the Auto Shooter genre. Read our preview to find out why!

February 14, 2024 | 02:34 EST

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth Preview Keyart
Preview

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth Final Preview - Open World Spectacular

We go hands-on one final time with Final Fantasy VII Rebirth - Square Enix's most ambitious open world packed to the brim with adventure and the grander scope of the Final Fantasy VII Remake story.

February 6, 2024 | 07:04 EST

Children of the Sun protagonist and TR Watermarks
Preview

Children of the Sun Preview - Fresh Headshot Puzzle Game

Children of the Sun is a weird and unique puzzle game that has you head-shotting cult members and curving bullets on a quest for revenge!

February 1, 2024 | 11:00 EST

Image of a Character in Enshrouded
Preview

Enshrouded Final Preview - Survival Progression at its finest

In a market with numerous great survival games to choose from - Enshrouded is a cut above the rest with how it approaches progression.

January 24, 2024 | 04:06 EST

Rayne Syndicate boss holding a Palworld sphere
Preview

Palworld Preview - Let Freedom and Monkeys With Guns Ring

This Palworld preview explores how the game lets the player do what they want, how they want, and without being a stickler for difficulty rules.

January 18, 2024 | 12:00 EST

Smite 2 Key Art
Preview

Smite 2 Preview - The Next Generation of MOBA

We go hands-on with an early build of Smite 2 - Hi-Rez Studios' foray into the next generation of MOBA built for Unreal Engine 5.

January 17, 2024 | 09:00 EST

Sargon kicks a boss off his horse in Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown
Preview

Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown Final Preview - Is This Anime?

If you're a fan of metroidvanias and over-the-top action anime, Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown could be right up your alley. Here's why.

December 13, 2023 | 12:00 EST

Tekken 8 Preview Key Art
Preview

Tekken 8 Preview - Punching Above its Weight

We go hands-on with Tekken 8 - a storied sequel with plenty of new mechanics, new visuals and exciting advancements in gameplay that create an inviting environment for both returning players and newcomers alike.

December 12, 2023 | 09:00 EST

GTFO Rundown 8 Preview
Preview

GTFO Rundown 8.0 Preview - You're Already Dead

GTFO's story heads to its conclusion with the release of Rundown 8.0. We discover just how difficult it really is in our hands-on preview.

December 7, 2023 | 10:11 EST

Key art for Wizordum by Emberheart Games and published by Apogee.
Preview

Wizordum Preview - A Nostalgic, Dungeon Delving FPS

From Emberheart Games and Apogee Entertainment comes the Early Access of Wizordum, a medieval boomer shooter with a lot of promise.

November 28, 2023 | 10:00 EST