Sony Until Dawn Footage

[Updated] Until Dawn Twitch Archives Disabled by Sony

August 27, 2015 10:25 AM

By: Andrew Otton

 

Updated: Sony has responded to TechRaptor and this is their response as to why the function was disabled: "We are currently working on a fix that will enable archiving of Until Dawn Twitch streams as this feature was unintentionally disabled. We are humbled by the community reception of the game and are excited to see fans sharing experiences on Twitch and YouTube. We apologize for the inconvenience and will provide an update as soon as the issue has been resolved."

Advertisement

 

 

Some users have noticed difficulties in sharing streams of Until Dawn. According to Twitch, Sony has disabled archiving for the game. As of now, Twitch has yet to receive word back and Sony has said nothing.

https://twitter.com/TwitchSupport/status/636647112755666944

Game Informer notes that this seems to only be an issue with the built-in PS4 Twitch app at the moment as they have archives available from when they streamed Until Dawn where they did not use the built-in app.

Advertisement

 
 

TechRaptor has reached out to both Sony and Supermassive Games for comment. We will update when/if we receive a comment.

Until Dawn is an adventure survival horror game exclusive to the PS4. Eight friends become trapped on a mountain getaway and things turn from bad to worse, forcing the friends to suspect they are not alone. Player's will have an opportunity to play as each of the friends, and player choices alone will determine who survives until dawn.

Advertisement

 
 

Until Dawn is designed to be played multiple times, as each time you play, you will miss out on a significant chunk of content. The "Butterfly Effect" system is Until Dawn's choice/consequence system, with an emphasis on unforeseen consequences. That system makes every choice a grey area, and the only way to reset your choice is to reset the game. If you want to see all eight survive, or die, you'll have to start all over, if it does not end as you would like.


Quick Take

If I were to guess, this is almost certainly intended. This is a way for Sony to mitigate some of the let's play/captured moments from getting out to make sure people will buy/experience the game themselves. However, as Game Informer has shown above, there are other avenues to stream/archive. It is more perplexing when you consider YouTube will be full of videos that YouTubers will have captured themselves.

All in all it doesn't seem to make a whole lot of sense if they are attempting to stop people from watching the game at all.

Andrew Otton
Author: Andrew Otton | Editor in Chief
Andrew is the Editor in Chief at TechRaptor. Conned into a love of gaming by Nintendo at a young age, Andrew has been chasing the dragon spawned by Super Mario World ever since, seeking out similar… Read More