Microsoft Announces Date of Reveal About the Future of the Xbox Business

Microsoft has announced the date for the much-awaited reveal about the future of the Xbox business by Phil Spencer, Sarah Bond, and Matt Booty.


Published: February 12, 2024 2:30 PM /

By:


Xbox Podcast ad

Microsoft has announced the date and time of its upcoming reveal focusing on the future of the Xbox business, which was promised last week.

As shared on the brand's official X (formerly Twitter) account, the event will come in the form of an Official Xbox Podcast with Microsoft gaming CEO Phil Spencer, Xbox President Sarah Bond, and Head of Xbox Game Studios Matt Booty.

It'll be hosted on the Xbox YouTube channel at noon PST, 3:00 p.m. EST, 8:00 p.m. GMT, or 9:00 p.m. CET depending on where you live. 

Phil Spencer at an Xbox Podcast
Phil Spencer during a recent Xbox podcast

This follows rumors that have started circulating among media and personalities alleging that some Xbox exclusive games may be released on rival console platforms, prompting widespread concern among part of the community.

The content of the podcast remains unknown, and no hint has been shared by Microsoft's management. 

In the meanwhile, Microsoft announced its financial results a couple of weeks ago, including a large increase in revenue for its gaming business due to the $68.7 billion acquisition of Activision Blizzard.

CEO Satya Nadella boasted record growth of monthly active users to 200 million and reiterated that "great content is key" to the company's growth and that he has "never been more excited" about the lineup of upcoming games.

Interestingly, last year, he expressed his desire to get rid of console exclusives entirely if it was within his power to do so. Yet, we don't yet know whether Microsoft will actually go that far or not. 

Microsoft already publishes games on rival consoles, including Minecraft and a  number of older games from Activision Blizzard and Bethesda. The company also releases all of its PC games on Steam despite the rivalry with the Windows store. 

Regardless of what will be announced later this week, Microsoft already pledged to continue releasing the Call of Duty franchise on PlayStation platforms and to port it to Nintendo's consoles as well.

Interestingly, last week Ubisoft CEO Yves Guillemot mentioned that a possible multiplatform shift for Microsoft wouldn't have a huge impact on the industry

On the other hand, Take-Two CEO Strauss Zelnick didn't comment directly on what he expects Microsoft to do, but considering the results, he wouldn't want to bet against the company's management team

Have a tip, or want to point out something we missed? Leave a Comment or e-mail us at tips@techraptor.net


Giuseppe Nelva Profile Picture
| News Editor

News Editor at TechRaptor since January 2023 following over 20 years of professional experience in gaming journalism both on print media and on the web.… More about Giuseppe