Blizzard Announces World of Warcraft: Shadowlands Expansion

Published: November 1, 2019 3:02 PM /


Silvanas breaks everything

At BlizzCon 2019, World of Warcraft Game Director Ion Hazzikostas took to the stage to announce the game's next expansion: Shadowlands

The announcement came via a cinematic trailer that showed professional badass Sylvanas marching towards the frozen throne, taking it for herself, and then ripping the Lich King's former crown in half. The act seemed to open a rift in the sky, which seems like a convenient way of saying "There's the new expansion!"

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands' titular area is a land of death, rest, and rebirth. As you would expect, the new expansion contains new dungeons, raids, and zones. The gameplay trailer showed off the four new zones: the gothic horror of Revendreth, the mystical forests of Ardenweald, the fungal cesspit of Maldraxxus, and the immaculate plains of Bastion. In the Shadowlands, players will also encounter some of the deceased legends from the Warcraft universe, like Uther the Lightbringer and Kael’thas.

In addition to the usual new content, Shadowlands players will also align themselves with one of four Covenants. According to the press release,

As they seek to right the cycle and uncover the extent of Sylvanas’ designs, players will forge bonds with the Covenants who hold domain over different planes within the Shadowlands:

  • The steadfast Kyrian of Bastion, whose discipline and duty compels them to safeguard souls from the mortal realm as they pass into the Shadowlands.
  • The mysterious Night Fae of Ardenweald, who fiercely defend the spirits of nature from those who would deprive them of rebirth.
  • The cunning Venthyr of Revendreth, who feast on the souls of the prideful and vain in a gothic realm of opulence and torment.
  • The warlike Necrolords of Maldraxxus, who forge the undead armies that serve as the first line of defense for the Shadowlands and honor those who seek power and glory in battle.

The chosen Covenant impacts the abilities players obtain upon leveling up, as well as specific traits and bonuses.

Shadowlands will also include Torghast, Tower of the Damned, a rogue-like instance with ever-changing rooms and legendary treasure; an updated leveling system that provides meaningful progression at every level; and the ability for all allied races to become the Death Knight class.

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands will be released sometime next year, with more details to be announced later at BlizzCon. The expansion's new zone Bastion will also be playable on the BlizzCon 2019 show floor. Those of us at home can also pre-purchase the expansion over on Blizzard's website.

Stay tuned to TechRaptor for more BlizzCon 2019 coverage.

Have a tip, or want to point out something we missed? Leave a Comment or e-mail us at

Jack Waibel Profile Pic
| Staff Writer

Jack Waibel is a writer, dungeon master, and lifelong gamer, with words appearing in EGM and TechRaptor. He’s tapped more land cards than modern science can… More about Jack

More Info About This Game
Learn More About World of Warcraft
Game Page World of Warcraft
Release Date
November 23, 2004 (Calendar)
Purchase (Some links may be affiliated)