psn

Latest News

Changing Your PSN Name Could Revoke Access To DLC, Delete Save Data, And More

October 24, 2018

By: Dan Hodges

 
 

PlayStation users have been wanting to change their usernames for as long as the PlayStation Network has been around. While Microsoft has offered the function for years, Sony has lagged behind.

However, a light appeared at the end of the tunnel for the xx_NaturoLover420_xx's of the world earlier this month as Sony recently announced that they'd be allowing users to change their PSN ID. Unfortunately, things aren't quite as simple as they appear.

 

The announcement came with the caveat that "not all games and applications for PS4, PS3, and PS Vita systems are guaranteed to support the online ID change". If that wasn't bad enough, Sony has since released more fine print detailing how changing your PSN ID could have detrimental effects on your account.

The following is what you risk by changing your PlayStation username, according to Sony:

 
 

• You may lose access to content (including paid-for content) that you have acquired for your games, including content like add-ons and virtual currency.  • You may lose your progress within games, including game saved data, leaderboard data, and progress toward trophies.  • Parts of your games and applications might not function properly, both online and offline.  • Your previous Online ID(s) may remain visible to you and other players in some places. 

Sony also released the details of the preview program that allows people to beta test the feature. They explain that the first change is free for all users, but any further changes will cost $9.99/€9.99 / £7.99, with a 50% discount for PlayStation Plus members.

 
 

If you don't like your name change during the preview period, you'll be able to revert back to your previous PSN ID, unless that username violates the current Terms of Service. They also detail that sub-account won't be able to use this feature and that it may take a few hours for your name change to take effect.

Sony will allow you to change your PSN ID back if you experience any issues, but you may only do this once during the preview period. They also explain that reverting your PSN ID back "may not fix all issues" and that you should do this sooner rather than later if you're going to as to limit any potential loss of save data or DLC access.


 
 

Quick Take

It's hardly a hot take to say that this whole fiasco seems like a complete nightmare. The lack of accountability Sony is taking for people potentially losing access to content they paid for is shocking and gross. I look forward to reading the book 20 years from now that details the insane decisions made by Sony when they were first building PSN back in 2006.

What do you think? Have you been affected by these issues? Are you in the preview program? Let us know below!