TR Member Perks!

After last weeks short Pokemon Direct where they announced Pokemon S&M Sun and Moon, we have a new Nintendo direct going on later today. Set at 5 pm Eastern, the Nintendo direct was announced only a couple days ago on Nintendo’s site and explicitly will not cover the Nintendo NX or Mobile games. The later in particular has caused many eyebrow raises as Miitomo, their first mobile “game”, is set to launch this month. The Direct is covering games through this Spring and Summer that Nintendo will be launching on the Wii U and 3DS.

However, it appears that Nintendo was unable to keep the information about the upcoming direct from leaking out. First up was Nintendo’s recent foe, the European Trademark Office who again have let out information. In this case, Monster Hunter Generations has been filed there and while at this point the user isn’t identified (due to not paying), the agent is. Javier Ungría López is the representative and he has filed trademarks for Capcom in the past making this very likely to be a Capcom application just before the public announcement of the title.

Monster Hunter Generations

Furthering that line is a report by RPGSite that later today at 3pm Pacific (or 6pm Eastern) Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate will be going on sale, dropping in price to $19.99 in at least the US Nintendo e-shop.

More damning though is a set of information posted by N1ntendo and translated from dutch by Neogaf. This included a list of games that will be discussed in the direct and some further information which well… since some sections of the internet were upset about the Pokemon Sun and Moon ‘spoiling’ their surprise – here be spoilers. Continue at your own risk. 

nintendo direct leak The list of games there for ease of reference is: 

  • Fire Emblem Fates
  • Lost Reavers (formerly Project Treasure)
  • Mario & Sonic at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games
  • Metroid Prime Federation Force
  • Monster Hunter Generations
  • Star Fox Zero
  • YO-KAI WATCH

Also mentioned in the N1ntendo post is that Monster Hunter Generations is the English localized Monster Hunter X and that the title (and what a particular folder hints at) will have some Fire Emblem content. Super Nintendo games will be coming to the New Nintendo 3DS – perhaps via the virtual console, and whether they will be exclusive to the New Nintendo 3DS or not is unknown. It appears that Star Fox Zero will be getting a first print edition as well, although what the contents of that are we’ll have to wait and see. 

So that’s what we know and expect for today’s Nintendo Direct that will be on at 2 PM Pacific, 3 PM Mountain, 4 PM Central, 5 PM Eastern, 6 PM Atlantic and well even later in the day if you’re in Europe with GMT being at 10pm for the Direct. We will cover the Direct when it goes live later today!


Don Parsons

News Editor

I've been a gamer for years of various types starting with the Sega Genesis and Shining Force when I was young. If I'm not playing video games, I'm often roleplaying, reading, writing, or pondering things brought up by speculative fiction.