A Dragon is being ridden into battle with soldiers marching around. This is key artwork for Dragonlance 5th Edition.

Next Generation of Dungeons & Dragons, 2023 Roadmap, and More at Wizards Presents 2022

August 18, 2022

By: Andrew Stretch

 
 

Today Wizards Presents showed off a lot of new things related to Wizards of the Coast's two tentpole products, Dungeons & Dragons and Magic the Gathering. For fans of Dungeons & Dragons, there was a LOT of big news announced including updates on previously announced books, a roadmap for 2023 with all major releases, and the biggest news of all, the announcement of playtest materials for the next generation of Dungeons & Dragons.

One D&D - The next generation of D&D

Starting off with the biggest news was the announcement of the Playtest of the next generation of Dungeons & Dragons. This product will be codenamed One D&D, in a similar way that 5th Edition was originally called D&D Next, and it's not just that we're hearing about this new take on Dungeons & Dragons but you can head to dndbeyond.com today to sign up for the public playtests.

 

While there has been no confirmation whether this will be a full step to 6th Edition, a half-step to 5.5 edition, or if they'll even keep with the naming convention is up in the air. What we do know about One D&D is that it will be completely compatible with everything that has been released in 5th Edition so far so every adventure and sourcebook you've collected over the past decade will still be relevant so you can mix and match between 5th Edition and One D&D at your pleasure.

If you want to check out our analysis and thoughts of the One D&D Playtest material you can here.

 
 

One D&D - Virtual Table Top is coming to DnDBeyond

The announcement of One D&D has also been paired with some early looks at what DnDBeyond's Virtual Table Top experience will look like. In the trailer, we see D&D miniatures being moved around a board freely, and briefly the raising and lowering of walls. The experience that they're aiming for is to be highly intuitive for all players and DMs alike to get into. They don't just want to give players access to encounters from the books that they create but make it possible for any dungeon to be made for players to battle it out in.

A miniature being shown in an early build of DnDBeyond's VTT tool

 
 

An interesting touch is that the style of VTT camera that they have picked is to be in tilt-shift. This will allow for large-scale encounters to be created but will maintain the small scale of playing with miniatures on a tabletop. There was no indication for when this will become available but those who are used to playing D&D virtually can have something to look for if you're a fan of DnDBeyond.

Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon Queen - Release date and collection announced

After being announced at the D&D Direct back in April we now have the exact release date for Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon. This adventure will take place in the world of Krynn during the War of the Lance. When Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon releases on December 6th it will be available in a standard cover as well as an alternate art cover only available for purchase at game stores.

There will also be a Deluxe Edition of Dragonlance that comes not only with the adventure book, but it will also contain the Dragonlance: Warriors of Krynn board game, and a DM screen only available in this package.

Dragonlance and DnDBeyond - Why don't you bundle it?

A feature that many fans have been getting excited about since the announcement of Wizards of the Coast's acquisition of DnDBeyond is the possibility of purchasing a book once and having it accessible on both platforms. With Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon Queen players will be able to purchase a bundle of the Physical and Digital versions of the game. Pre-orders for this will be available via the Wizards D&D store and will also give players early access to the digital edition of Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon Queen on November 23rd 2022.

 
 

Dungeons & Dragons 2023 Roadmap - What to expect next calendar year

We now know that One D&D is going to release in 2024 but there's over a year till that is available. In the meanwhile, Wizards has given players a roadmap of what to expect throughout 2023.

Keys from the Golden Vault

This Dungeons & Dragons adventure book is an anthology of short adventures that will all be centered around heists. Following in the footsteps of Journeys Through the Radiant Citadel and Candlekeep Mysteries these anthological series allow a series of adventures to be created focusing on a certain theme that can be slotted into anyone's home game. Keys from the Golden Vault will be available in Winter 2023

Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants

Now that everyone is an expert at Dragons with Fizban's Treasure of Dragons it's time for Giants to get their time in the spotlight. Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants will be a one-stop resource so that you can create all kinds of giant-themed experiences for your players in the world of Dungeons & Dragons. Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants will be available in Spring 2023.

The Book of Many Things

This resource book is completely tied to the Deck of Many Things. This compendium is a collection of all of the different creatures, locations, and other strange happenings that can come about once you pull a card from the Deck of Many Things. The Book of Many Things will be available in Summer 2023.

 
 

The roadmap of Dungeons & Dragons releases for 2023

Phandelver Campaign

For those who have gotten into D&D at some point in the last decade chances are you've heard of the Lost Mines of Phandelver, a beginner campaign that was released with the Starter Kit. In 2023 we'll see the release of an expansion to the base campaign where the story pivots to include some cosmic horror. This Phandelver Campaign will release in Summer 2023.

Planescape

That's right, after the return of Spelljammer: Adventures in Space it only makes sense that the next return to a previous setting is the return of Planescape. While not much was revealed about this return we do know that Planescape will be getting the same treatment as Spelljammer with a Setting Guide, Bestiary, and Adventure wrapped up together in a single slipbook. Planescape will release in Fall 2023.

 

Drizzt gets a facelift

Maybe not an announcement that those who haven't gotten into the written lore will be as interested in but to celebrate the 35th anniversary the Legend of Drizzt novels will be getting new covers. There will also be a Legend of Drizzt Visual Dictionary that will go deep into all of the lore, creatures, and move of the novels, and there will also be a family-oriented webcomic about Drizzt and Cattie-Brie's daughter trying to prove she's an adventurer.

 

That's a lot of content for D&D fans to be getting excited for. If you want to check out all of the announcements related to Magic the Gathering  and Dominaria United be sure to check out our companion article.

More Info About This Game

In This Article

Publisher
Wizards Of The Coast