First official D&D Adventure Book from Critical Role's Exandria Releasing in 2022

Featured art for Critical Role Call of the Netherdeep

Latest News

First official D&D Adventure Book from Critical Role's Exandria Releasing in 2022

October 12, 2021

By: Tyler Chancey

 
 

Fans of Dungeons and Dragons and the joy of interactive collaborative storytelling have plenty to celebrate right now. A brand new pre-written adventure has been announced, and it is an adventure that takes place in the world of Critical Role, Exandria.

The announcement for this adventure first appeared on Critical Role's official website. Titled Critical Role: Call of the Netherdeep, the adventure is meant for characters between levels 3 to 12, and tasks players with an epic adventure that will take them across continents from the Wastes of Xhoras to Marquet, deep into a corrupted realm, rescue a champion from somewhere in the depths, and face down forces that control fate itself.

The adventure spans seven chapters and is set in the world created by the popular web series by DM and professional voice-actor Matt Mercer, and will include the characters portrayed by the RPG group. Mercer worked in collaboration with D&D's Principal Story Architect Chris Perkins on this adventure. It features beautiful artwork by Kent Davis and Linda Lithen, a poster map of the land of Ank'Harel by Deven Rue, beautiful cover art by Minttu Hyinninen as well as additional supplementary material about the setting courtesy of James Haeck.

Artwork of hte Wastes of Xhoras by Kent Davis
I'm already excited just by this artwork.

This isn't the first time Critical Role has collaborated with Wizards of the Coast. The unique setting of Exandria has already been adapted into Dungeons and Dragons through the Explorer's Guide to Wildemount supplement. However, Call of the Netherdeep includes additional material and worldbuilding for the setting. This includes brand new magical items, monsters to throw at your players as well as brand new rival NPCs.

 
 

Whether you are a veteran Dungeons and Dragons player or a huge Critical Role fan, Call of the Netherdeep looks like an adventure to bring fans of either together around the gaming table. The adventure will be available March 15 2022 either in physical book format for $49.99 or through digital storefronts for $29.99.

a candid selfie of the staff writer, husky build, blond hair, caucasian.
Staff Writer

Born in 1990, Tyler Chancey's earliest memories were of an NES controller in his hands, and with it a passion that continued into his adulthood. He's written for multiple sites, has podcasted, and has continued to shape and encourage new talent to greater heights.

From the Web

Comments