Gaming Reviews - Page 2

Looking for the latest game reviews? We've got you covered with regular and consistent video game reviews, across both AAA, AA, and indie games! You can also check out our tabletop reviews if you're looking for a new game for your group!

Key art from Against the Storm
Review

Against the Storm Review - An Ambient Roguelite City Builder

Against the Storm is an ambient roguelite city builder that's set in a world where it perpetually rains. Read our review to find out more.

December 4, 2023 | 01:56 EST

Image of a city in SteamWorld Build that is well-connected with roads and has lots of different buildings
Review

SteamWorld Build Review - A Dig-Lightful City-Building Adventure

Find out why the high replayability and gameplay loop of SteamWorld Build make this a must-play game for citybuilder lovers in our review.

November 27, 2023 | 09:00 EST

Image of a city in SteamWorld Build that is well-connected with roads and has lots of different buildings
Review
By:

SteamWorld Build Review - A Dig-Lightful City-Building Adventure

Find out why the high replayability and gameplay loop of SteamWorld Build make this a must-play game for citybuilder lovers in our review.

November 27, 2023 | 09:00 EST

Super Mario up close from Super Mario RPG
Review

Super Mario RPG Review - Slightly Unbalanced, But A Fun Romp

Super Mario RPG is the start of Mario's RPG career finally remade for the Nintendo Switch. Build up your party and taking on Smithy and his invading forces.

November 22, 2023 | 11:00 EST

An spread-shot cover of Roboquest, showcasing a large yellow robot standing alongside a young girl and a blue robot against the backdrop of a large spherical robot.

Roboquest Review - Rust Belt

After entering early access in 2020, Ryseup Studios have finally pushed their FPS roguelite into version 1.0, but is this the upgrade the genre needed? Or is it a failed installation? Read our Roboquest review to find out more.

November 18, 2023 | 11:00 EST

Boruto playing his new VR game in Naruto X Boruto
Review

Naruto X Boruto Ultimate Ninja Storm Connections Review - Narratively Bankrupt

Naruto X Boruto Ultimate Ninja Storm Connections doesn't celebrate Naruto enough, while also not letting Boruto shine creating a confusing experience.

November 17, 2023 | 09:00 EST

Spirittea Review Key Art Showing a red clad character praying at a shrine in the woods while the game logo fills the top right corner.jpg
Review

Spirittea Review - Once More, With Spirit!

Our Spirittea Review will let you know what we thought of the newest Life Sim game to hit the scene with a bunch of comedic spirits in tow.

November 13, 2023 | 02:47 EST

Cuisineer main menu featuring main character Pom in the center.

Cuisineer Review - Looks Better Than It Tastes

Read our Cuisineer review to see if this game is cooked to perfection or if its pretty looking potential ends up falling like a flat souffle.

November 7, 2023 | 03:09 EST

my time at sandrock review yan explains basics to me and mi an

My Time at Sandrock Review - Build Your Own Desert Oasis

In our My Time at Sandrock review, we try out Pathea Games' newest farming and building sim, trying to bring life back to a dry desert.

November 6, 2023 | 01:00 EST

The logo for Like A Dragon Gaiden: The Man Who Erased His Name, showing Kazuma Kiryu in a black suit lighting a cigarette.
Review

Like A Dragon Gaiden: The Man Who Erased His Name Review – Yakuza Greatest Hits

Like A Dragon Gaiden: The Man Who Erased His Name is a solid entry point for potential new players, but may be lacking for veterans. This is our review.

November 6, 2023 | 10:00 EST

EA Sports WRC key art showing a brightly colored rally car driving through a dusty area kicking up a cloud behind itself
Review

EA Sports WRC Review - Will You Rally!!!

This EA Sports WRC Review will give you the low-down on Codemasters' latest attempt to make a rallying sim so good that people will want to live in it.

November 5, 2023 | 11:00 EST

Super Mario Bros. Wonder header image.
Review

Super Mario Bros. Wonder Review - Oh, the Places You'll Go

Look no further than our Super Mario Bros. Wonder review if you're still on the fence about this amazing platformer.

November 3, 2023 | 11:00 EDT

The Talos Principle 2 Preview Image with the TR Review Overlay
Review

The Talos Principle 2 Review — A Praiseworthy Puzzler

Explore a mysterious island in our Talos Principle 2 review. With numerous puzzles and secrets is this adventure worth spending your time solving?

November 2, 2023 | 12:00 EDT

The Lord of the Rings - Return to Moria Review - Cover Image Gimli Drinking Brew at a Table
Review

The Lord of the Rings: Return to Moria Review - Even Darkness Must Pass

Is it worth your time to join the Dwarves and return to Moria? Read our The Lord of the Rings: Return to Moria Review to find out more!

November 1, 2023 | 08:00 EDT

A spread-shot cover of Jusant, showcasing the game's logo and the main character walking towards a rocky pillar that goes off-screen.

Jusant Review - Quixotic, Melodic, Entropic

With Banishers: Ghost of New Eden delayed until 2024, Jusant caps off a rather eventful year for Don't Nod, but is the mountain-climbing adventure game a successful hike? Or a dizzying descent into dullness? Read our Jusant review to find out more.

October 31, 2023 | 11:30 EDT

An image from our RoboCop: Rogue City Review featuring RoboCop in his classic silver armor.
Review

RoboCop: Rogue City Review - Good Shooting, Great Sleuthing

We're blasting punks and solving crimes in our RoboCop: Rogue City Review, which surprised us by nailing the tone of the original franchise.

October 31, 2023 | 05:00 EDT

Total War: Pharaoh - The Pharaoh is Perplexed
Review

Total War: Pharaoh Review - This Is Not It

In TechRaptor's Total War: Pharaoh review, you'll find out whether it's the grand return to the glory days of the historical arm of the franchise or not.

October 30, 2023 | 09:00 EDT

Image of Song of Nunu's key art.
Review

Song of Nunu: A League of Legends Story Review - A Heartwarming Adventure

Song of Nunu: A League of Legends Story is a charming platformer within the snowy region of Freljord. Adventure awaits!

October 30, 2023 | 03:00 EDT

Alan Wake staring at the camera from Alan Wake II with the TechRaptor image Overlay
Review

Alan Wake 2 Review — A Mesmerizing Murder Mystery

Alan Wake 2 is easily one of the best survival horror games I’ve ever played. Unfortunately, it’s also one of the most problematic that I’ve reviewed.

October 26, 2023 | 09:00 EDT

A featured screenshot of Ghostrunner 2, showing Jack with his sword drawn in a black and yellow background.
Review

Ghostrunner 2 Review – Run, Ghost, Run

Despite some hiccups in difficulty, One More Level has greatly refined their cyborg platforming action. This is our Ghostrunner 2 review.

October 23, 2023 | 01:47 EDT

Gargoyles Remastered Review
Review

Gargoyles Remastered Review - Running in the 90s

Gargoyles Remastered brings the classic side scroller back to life with a number of modern updates while keeping hold of its 16-bit roots.

October 19, 2023 | 09:00 EDT

The Jackbox Party Pack 10 loading screen with the TR review overlay
Review

The Jackbox Party Pack 10 Review - A Decade Of Brilliance

The Jackbox Party Pack 10 is the decade marker for Jackbox Games creating groups of party games. They've once again nailed a collection of hilarious games.

October 18, 2023 | 12:00 EDT

Hellboy Web of Wyrd key art showing a german expressionist background with hellboy himself walking on the right-hand side
Review

Hellboy Web of Wyrd Review - Clunky but Funky

Our Hellboy Web of Wyrd review will show you what we thought of the latest videogame putting for Mike Mignona's famous red character.

October 18, 2023 | 11:00 EDT

The Shop screen from World of Horror with the TR Review Overlay
Review

World of Horror Review - Time To Spiral Into Despair

World of Horror is a spooky 1980s inspired game boasting horrific manga-style graphics and retro point-and-click roguelike adventures.

October 18, 2023 | 10:00 EDT

A spread-shot cover of Kona II: Brume, showcasing the main character Karl Faubert looking into the horizon, with a dark cloud in the shape of a moose head above him and the game's logo.

Kona II: Brume Review - Iced That Guy, To Kona Phrase

Six years since Parabole released a sleeper hit in 2017's Kona, the winter wonderlands of Northern Canada have returned. Is it ice cold, or does it melt in the sun? Read our Kona II: Brume review to find out more.

October 18, 2023 | 09:00 EDT

The logo for Wizard With A Gun, with four wizards shooting fire, ice, poison, and tentacles from different firearms.
Review

Wizard With A Gun Review – Have Magic Gun Will Travel

Ever wanted to explore a broken world with magical guns and time travel? Read our Wizard With A Gun review and see if it is for you.

October 16, 2023 | 12:00 EDT

Black Suit Spider-Man from Marvel's Spiderman standing on a building with the TR Review Overlay
Review

Marvel's Spider-Man 2 Review - 2 Spider-Man, 1 Furious

Marvel's Spider-Man 2 kicks off a large-scale adventure for Peter and Miles against Kraven, superhero and personal life clash as they confront their morals

October 16, 2023 | 10:00 EDT

Key visual for Hot Wheels Unleashed 2: Turbocharged
Review

Hot Wheels Unleashed 2: Turbocharged - Into High Gear

Hot Wheels Unleashed 2: Turbocharged is a worthy successor with plenty of new cars and customization options, fun new game modes, and even a decent single-player campaign. It improves on many of its predecessor's faults, albeit still having a few of its own.

October 16, 2023 | 03:05 EDT

Sonic, Knuckles, Tails, and Amy looking at a giant Robot
Review

Sonic Superstars Review - Running With What Works

In our Sonic Superstars Review we evaluate how SEGA and Sonic Team are able to build off the great Sonic Mania and pave a new future for 2D Sonic

October 13, 2023 | 09:00 EDT

Key art for the Lords of the Fallen review, depicting a sinister figure with glowing eyes and a massive sword
Review

Lords Of The Fallen (2023) Review - Dark Soul Reaver

In our Lords of the Fallen review, we take a look at Hexworks' attempt to banish the awful 2014 original from memory and do things properly this time.

October 12, 2023 | 09:00 EDT

The player character approaches the green world boss in Cocoon
Review

Cocoon Review - A World Within Worlds of Intrigue

Is the latest puzzle adventure game from the one of the Inside developers all it's hyped up to be? Read our Cocoon review to find out.

October 10, 2023 | 10:00 EDT

Review Header image for Diluvian Ultra.
Review

Diluvian Ultra Review - A Bit of a Biopunk Mess

Diluvian Ultra, a new retro-inspired shooter, looks pretty awesome but leaves a lot of room for improvement.

October 6, 2023 | 10:00 EDT

Basim and his bird companion from Assassin's Creed Mirage with the TR Overlay for reviews
Review

Assassin's Creed Mirage Review - It Feels So Good To Be Back

Assassin's Creed Mirage is a return to classic form for Assassin's Creed promoting stealthy gameplay with a tight historical narrative.

October 4, 2023 | 07:05 EDT

A spread-shot cover of Forza Motorsport, showcasing a yellow Cadillac race car and blue Chevrolet sports car racing close to each other, with the game logo in the top right.

Forza Motorsport Review - Heavy Metal Mercy

Six years since the last entry, and in the wake of Forza Horizon taking the world by storm Turn 10 have returned to reboot their Motorsport series, but is it a clean lap, or a crash out? Read our Forza Motorsport review to find out more.

October 4, 2023 | 03:05 EDT

A large moss covered giant yelling.
Review

Knight vs Giant: The Broken Excalibur Review - David Struggles Against Goliath

Our Knight vs Giant: The Broken Excalibur review takes a look at this new roguelike with heavy inspirations from Hades. How does it fare?

October 2, 2023 | 04:00 EDT

moonstone island standing outside of science center

Moonstone Island Review - Adventures Worth Fighting For

We take to the skies in our Moonstone Island review for monster-battling, exploration and alchemy, weighing out the pros and cons.

September 30, 2023 | 11:00 EDT

Fate/Samurai Remnant featured image.
Review

Fate/Samurai Remnant Review - Musou Holy Grail

Fate/Samurai Remnant is a must-play for Fate fans, but newcomers should check out this musou as well.

September 28, 2023 | 07:00 EDT

The Wanderer is at the ready right before a boss fight in Silent Hope
Review

Silent Hope Review - Hoping for More

Discover our thoughts and impressions on Marvelous and XSEED’s latest dungeon-crawling adventure in our Silent Hope review.

September 27, 2023 | 11:00 EDT

Dai summoning his Mark from Infinity Strash: DRAGON QUEST The Adventure of Dai
Review

Infinity Strash: DRAGON QUEST The Adventure of Dai Review - Memories Best Left Forgotten

Infinity Strash: DRAGON QUEST The Adventure of Dai is an action game inspired by the Dragon Quest Manga that began in the late 80's

September 27, 2023 | 07:00 EDT

The main character, V, jumps from a great height, with Dogtown’s pyramid building seen in the distance.
Review

Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty Review — High-Stakes Espionage

I felt a bit of trepidation prior to writing our Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty review - but in the end it was a great experience alongside the 2.0 update.

September 20, 2023 | 11:00 EDT

Ogerpon, the protagonist, and Carmine in Pokemon The Teal Mask DLC with review image text
Review

Pokemon Scarlet and Violet The Teal Mask Review - Best Storytelling, But Worst Performance

Pokemon Scarlet and Violet DLC The Teal Mask is now out taking trainers to the Kitakami region and some of Pokemon's best storytelling.

September 13, 2023 | 09:37 EDT

The logo for Gunbrella, the gunbrella in red silhouette is seen behind.
Review

Gunbrella Review – Super Noir-tendo

A pulpy noir action-platformer that is a throwback to the SNES era with a lot of thoughts about modern current events. This is our Gunbrella review.

September 13, 2023 | 12:00 EDT

The Lies of P main character in a close up staring into the camera.
Review

Lies Of P Review - Do Puppets Have Souls?

Our Lies of P review takes a look at Neowiz's Soulslike-with-strings, so how long can we go without mentioning Bloodborne?

September 13, 2023 | 11:00 EDT

A tunnel in I Doesn't Exist that shows that there's more going on with this game than meets the eye
Review

I Doesn't Exist Review - Existential Dread

I Doesn't Exist is a short text adventure that takes risks in both storytelling and implementation of its gameplay.

September 12, 2023 | 08:00 EDT

Fae Farm Review - Cover Image Player Character Running Across a Late-Game Farm
Review

Fae Farm Review - A Little Bit of Magic

Fae Farm has some innovative new ideas for Farming RPGs, but it also makes some major mistakes in game design. Read our Fae Farm review to find out more!

September 11, 2023 | 10:17 EDT

The main character sharing a kiss from Eternights with the name and review graphic overlayed
Review

Eternights Review – Dates and Dungeons

What happens when Devil May Cry, Persona, and a dating sim come together? Something odd but strangely compelling. This is our Eternights review.

September 11, 2023 | 09:45 EDT

Starfield Review Keyart
Review

Starfield Review - An Interstellar Adventure

Our Starfield review tackles Bethesda's latest outing as a brave new IP that sits comfortable in its systems and design philosophies, but not without shortcomings.

August 31, 2023 | 12:00 EDT

Key art for Trine 5, depicting the heroes Amadeus, Pontius, and Zoya as well as the villains of the game
Review

Trine 5: A Clockwork Conspiracy Review - Machine Tooled

Our Trine 5 review takes a look at the fifth outing for Amadeus, Pontius, and Zoya, and the crow's feet are starting to show.

August 29, 2023 | 11:00 EDT

Key art of Sea Of Stars
Review

Sea Of Stars Review - A Voyage to the Past

Sea Of Stars is a retro-inspired turn-based RPG that borrows from classics like Chrono Trigger while adding its own flair on things.

August 29, 2023 | 07:41 EDT

Armored Core VI: Fires of Rubicon Review Header
Review

Armored Core VI: Fires of Rubicon Review - Claw Grip Forever

Our Armored Core VI: Fires of Rubicon Review has us figuring out if this is the series' grand return or just an Armored Snore.

August 23, 2023 | 11:00 EDT