Redfall Trademark Dispute Settled Between Zenimax And Author Jay Falconer

the elder scrolls vi redfall trademark

Latest News

Redfall Trademark Dispute Settled Between Zenimax And Author Jay Falconer

May 24, 2019

By: Richard Costa

 
 

As we reported earlier this year in February, author Jay Falconer filed a lawsuit against ZeniMax Media for its trademark application "Redfall," filed last September. Some believe the trademark is the potential subtitle for Bethesda Game Studios' upcoming The Elder Scrolls VI, first announced at E3 2018. There's been no shortage of speculation on that front, but since the trademark dispute surfaced there's been no other news from either ZeniMax Media or Bethesda Softworks. Yesterday, ZeniMax Media released a short statement to announce that the dispute has been settled:

ZeniMax Media Inc. and Bookbreeze.com are pleased to announce that they have amicably resolved a pending trademark dispute related to the Redfall trademark. While the specific terms of the agreement are confidential, the parties believe that resolution of the matter is mutually beneficial to both ZeniMax and Bookbreeze.com and their respective fans.
This is also confirmed by a Twitter statement from author Jay Falconer, who says he is pleased with the outcome and released the same official short statement on Facebook.

https://twitter.com/JayJFalconer/status/1131561325900050432

Falconer's Redfall series has no actual connection with the fantasy worlds of Bethesda Game Studios' The Elder Scrolls Tamriel universe, being rather a completely different genre of post-apocalyptic thriller novels, more in the vein of Tom Clancy. Initially, Falconer claimed on Twitter that he attempted to reach ZeniMax Media himself to "work out a simple licensing deal." He claims to have been ignored every time, and so his publisher BookBreeze filed the lawsuit on his behalf.

https://twitter.com/JayJFalconer/status/1098233272440508419

 
 

There's still no news or clarification on what the "Redfall" trademark refers to, and speculation is likely to continue at full steam ahead, unless Bethesda Softworks decides to share more news on the trademark, or more details on the upcoming The Elder Scrolls VI in order to put rumors to bed. Right now, however, the developer seems more focused on providing support for the Early Access of The Elder Scrolls: Blades, which is the first mobile game of the acclaimed fantasy RPG series.

Do you think we'll find out more about The Elder Scrolls VI soon? What kind of announcement are you hoping for? Let us know in the comments below!

Richard Costa
Staff Writer

Hack for hire, indentured egghead, maverick thoughtcriminal. Mainly interested in Western RPGs, first-person immersion, turn-based tactics, point-and-clickers, and card jousting.

Comments