Rainbow Six Siege Year 8 Detailed: Developers "Looking at the Next 10 Years"

The developers of Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege revealed the full roadmap for year 8 and revealed that they're "already looking at the next 10 years" for the game. ūüĎÄ

Published: February 19, 2023 9:34 PM /


Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege

Today Ubisoft revealed what players can expect from the full year 8 of Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege content.

During the broadcast of the Six Invitational 2023 tournament, creative director Alexander Karpazis and associate game director Joshua Mills talked about what's ahead. 

We already know about Season 1 and its operator Brava, which were revealed yesterday, and we hear that every season will bring a new battle pass and an event dropping mid-season. 

Season 2 will bring a Swedish operator the rework of the Consulate map, and a permanent arcade playlist. That's a permanent space where players can try all the arcades available in the game and there will also be "a little extra." Frost will also receive a rework.

Season 3 will include a South Korean operator and a rework of Quick Match, providing a quicker and fun experience for players who want to take a break from Ranked gameplay.  A new defender-centric secondary gadget will also be added, the Observation Blocker. It does what it says on the tin and it can be deployed on the floor and stop observation gadgets from seeing through it. 

Season 4 will come with a Portuguese operator and a brand-new map tied to the story of the game. It will include "something we haven't seen before" in Rainbow Six Siege. Shields will also be reworked with the ability to aim down sight, reload, and turn your head. Players facing shields will also get more tools to handle them. 

Console players will get full controller remapping and control scheme presets.

The Year Pass will also come back including all four Battle Passes with their 10% store discounts and the 14-day early access to operations, on top of the bonus Ace Bundle exclusive skin. The Premium Bundle will include the same plus 20 battle pass tokens per season and the Thunderbird Bundle exclusive skin. They will be available tomorrow (February 20) and for a limited time only. 

Interestingly, the developers also mentioned that they're so committed to Rainbow Six Siege that they are already looking at the next 10 years for the game. 

You can check out the full roadmap below.

Rainbow Six Siege Year 8 Roadmap

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege has been out for quite a while, and unlike its successor Rainbow Six Extraction, it has enjoyed great popularity among fans despite the slow start, contributing very consistently to Ubisoft's earnings. 

The game is currently available for PC, PS4, Xbox One, PlayStation 5, and Xbox Series X|S. 

Have a tip, or want to point out something we missed? Leave a Comment or e-mail us at tips@techraptor.net

Giuseppe Nelva Profile Picture
| News Editor

News Editor at TechRaptor since January 2023 following over 20 years of professional experience in gaming journalism both on print media and on the web.… More about Giuseppe

More Info About This Game
Learn more about Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege
Ubisoft Montreal
Xbox One, PlayStation 4, PC
Release Date
December 1, 2015 (Calendar)
Purchase (Some links may be affiliated)