New PlayStation State of Play Will Feature Final Fantasy XVI This Week

Is your body ready to see more Final Fantasy XVI? A PlayStation State of Play presentation later this week will show over 20 minutes of the game. ūüĎÄ


Published: April 11, 2023 5:38 PM /

By:


Final Fantasy XVI Key Art

Today Sony Interactive Entertainment announced a new State of Play presentation happening this week, focusing on Final Fantasy XVI.

According to the announcement, the upcoming game by Square Enix will be showcased in a gameplay presentation that will last over 20 minutes.

It'll happen on Thursday, April 13, at 2:00 pm PDT, 5:00 pm EDT, 10:00 pm BST, or 11:00 pm CEST depending on where you live. Usually, this kind of State of Play presentation only includes one game, so we should likely not expect additional surprises. 

Incidentally, earlier today we saw some cute footage of a moogle following similar clips focusing on Clive's canine companion Torgal and a Chocobo. 

If you're unfamiliar with Final Fantasy XVI, it's the next mainline game of the ultra-popular fantasy series by Square Enix. Its development is spearheaded by many developers from the Final Fantasy XIV team, which isn't too surprising considering the success of the latest MMORPG of the series, which has recently passed 27 million registered accounts worldwide.

Among them, we have producer Naoki Yoshida, director Hiroshi Takai, writer and creative director Kazutoyo Maehiro, artist Hiroshi Minagawa, composer Masayoshi Soken, and many more. 

The game is said to be a darker take on the Final Fantasy concept, while its battle system is fully action-based. Yet, you can expect plenty of traditional concepts from the series including summons, Chocobos, and as you can see above, Moogles. 

The scheduled release date is June 22, 2023, for PS5, and has already gone gold. A PC version is also likely coming at some point, albeit there is no official release date for it at the moment. We also learned that a demo is planned and should come shortly before the game's release. While we wait, you can also take a look at a bunch of gameplay shown at PAX East.

Have a tip, or want to point out something we missed? Leave a Comment or e-mail us at tips@techraptor.net


Giuseppe Nelva Profile Picture
| Former News Editor

Started as News Editor at TechRaptor in January 2023, following over 20 years of professional experience in gaming journalism both on print media and on the… More about Giuseppe

More Info About This Game
Learn More About Final Fantasy XVI
Game Page Final Fantasy XVI
Developer
Square Enix
Publisher
Square Enix
Platforms
PlayStation 5
Release Date
June 22, 2023 (Calendar)
Genre
JRPG, RPG