Disgaea 7 & Rhapsody: Marl Kingdom Chronicles Announced for the West

NIS America has just announced the western localization of Disgaea 7 and Rhapsody: Marl Kingdom Chronicles (the 2nd and 3rd JRPG of the Marl Kingdom series) for PS5, PS4 (only Disgaea), Switch, and PC 😍

Published: January 30, 2023 1:29 PM /


Disgaea 7

Today NIS America hosted a reveal showcase to celebrate the 30th anniversary of its parent company, Nippon Ichi Software. The publisher had interesting news to share. 

Disgaea series producer Shunsuke Minowa kicked off the string of reveals, announcing the western localization of Disgaea 7. Incidentally, the series has sold 5 million units worldwide.

The game will be titled Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless in the west and it'll come to North America and Europe in fall 2023 for PS5, PS4, Nintendo Switch, and even PC. The PC version is new, as it's coming only for consoles in Japan.

You can check out the trailer below.

The second announcement is Rhapsody: Marl Kingdom Chronicles, coming in Summer 2023 for PS5, Nintendo Switch, and PC. This is the debut in the west of Little Princess: Marl Okoku no Ningyo Hime 2 and Tenshi no Present: Marl Okoku Monogatari, the second and third game of the Marl Kingdom series. They're the sequels of Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure, which NIS America localized as part of the NIS Classics Volume 3 compilation alongside La Pucelle: Ragnarok.

We also learn that the PC versions of the two games will be released separately on Steam for PC, while they will be bundled on consoles. They were originally released only in Japan in 1999 and 2000 for the original PlayStation and PlayStation 2 respectively. 

You can watch a trailer below.

Both games will have physical collector's editions available at the NIS America official store. 

Disgaea 7's includes the following, priced at $99.99.

  • Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless Deluxe Edition game
  • "The Art of War" Hardcover Art Book
  • "Songs of Honor" 2-Disc Original Soundtrack
  • Steelbook
  • Mini Byoubu Art Display
  • "Netherworld Warriors" Yunomi Tea Cup
  • Collector's Box

A richer version priced at $158.99 adds plushies of Fuji and Pirilika in addition to what is listed above. 

Rhapsody's collector's edition includes the following, priced at $89.99. 

  • Rhapsody: Marl Kingdom Chronicles Deluxe Edition
  • "Memories in Melody" Hardcover Art Book
  • "Ballad of the Little Princess" 2-disc Original Soundtrack
  • "Memories of Marl Kingdom" 2-disc Original Soundtrack
  • "Royal Crescendo" Art Cards (Set of 3)
  • "A Duet of Adventure" Acrylic Display
  • "Generations of Song" Acrylic Display
  • "The Show Must Go On" Cloth Poster
  • Collector's Box

Have a tip, or want to point out something we missed? Leave a Comment or e-mail us at tips@techraptor.net

Giuseppe Nelva Profile Picture
| News Editor

News Editor at TechRaptor since January 2023 following over 20 years of professional experience in gaming journalism both on print media and on the web.… More about Giuseppe