Alan Wake DLC Now Free For Xbox 360

Published: April 8, 2016 10:15 AM /




Recently, fans of the psychological thriller/horror game Alan Wake, yours truly included, got their hopes up over a possible return of the troubled writer. Unfortunately, this turned out to be little more than an in-universe TV-show in the newly released Quantum Break. Even though it seems players will have to wait a while longer before we can continue Alan Wake's story, it is now possible to get the 2 story-driven DLC for the game for free on Xbox 360 or via backwards compatibility on the Xbox One. 

The first one, titled The Signal, starts where the base game ended and takes place in a bizarre and surreal version of Bright Falls, the town the base game takes place in. This DLC introduces the enigmatic and utterly insane Mr. Scratch, an evil doppelganger of Wake who is trying to find a way from the Dark Place under Cauldron Lake into the real world to take Wake's place. 

The second DLC titled The Writer, continues the story arc of Wake being trapped in the Dark Place while he fights Mr. Scratch which ultimately leads him to write the novel 'Return', which is what the TV-show in Quantum Break is about. 

At the time of writing, it is unknown if the DLC will be free permanently, or if this is the result of a mistake on Microsoft's end. We've emailed Microsoft to find out the details.

Whatever the case, it has never been easier to jump into the DLC of what is already a pretty spectacular and unique experience full of mystery, great music and story set against an atmospheric backdrop of small town America. 

To grab the DLC you can go here for The Signal and here for The Writer.

What did you think of Alan Wake and its DLC? Is this going to convince you to give the game a go? Let us know in the comment section below!


Have a tip, or want to point out something we missed? e-mail us at [email protected] or join us on Discord!


More Info About This Game
Learn more about Alan Wake
Game Page Alan Wake
Epic Games
Release Date
May 18, 2010 (Calendar)
Purchase (Some links may be affiliated)