PUBG Corp has announced that the new, smaller, island-themed map Codnamed: Savage will be returning to PUBG servers very soon. Speaking in a post on Steam, the team revealed that the map will be returning to test servers under a different name – Sanhok. More players will be able to try out the map this time around, with Sanhok available to anyone who owns a copy of the game, and who has downloaded the PUBG test server.

Speaking about the inspiration behind the island setting and name for the new map, PUBG Corp said:

As we explained in our “Inspirations of Codename: Savage” blog posts (part 1 here, part 2 here), this new map is inspired by a wide variety of islands across southeast Asia, including those found in Thailand and the Philippines. To reflect that inspiration, we invented a sort of hodgepodge combination of two words:

First, the Thai word for “fun:” สนุก (pronounced like “sah-nook”)
Second, the Filipino (Tagalog) word for “chicken:” manok (pronounced like “mah-nok”)

Fun Chicken then. The post then outlines the exact timings for when Sanhok will go live, which you can check out below:

Testing Begins:
THURS May 10, 7pm PDT / FRI May 11, 4am CEST / May 11, 11am KST

Testing Ends:
MON May 14, 4am PDT / May 14, 1pm CEST / May 14, 8pm KST

According to the update, Sanhok is only a couple of months away from a full-fledged release, so players are encouraged to try it out and give feedback in the meantime. This information is, of course, only relevant for PC players, given that Xbox One users have only just received the game’s second map – Miramar, in test servers recently. PUBG Corp just launched a player survey to garner feedback on the recent tweaks to weapon balancing, after substantial changes to the way the majority of the weapons perform in-game.

Are you going to give Sanhok a test run before full release? Let us know in the comments.

More About This Game

Jake Green

Staff Writer

A Nintendo evangelist and X-Files superfan, Jake can be found peddling his gaming opinions online. He has a soft spot for VR and values story-telling in gaming above all else.