One of Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire’s more recently unveiled selling points is the ability to catch legendaries from other regions. This is done by flying into dark clouds via Latios or Latias – depending on which version you pick up – but that was the only details we had until now.

Above is a clip from Pokemon Get TV, a variety show in Japan, which goes into a little more depth. Thanks to our very own Tanis Pallagi‘s knowledge of the Japanese language, we can confirm that the image shown toward the end depicts which legendaries will appear in each version of the game.

Pokemon Omega Ruby:

  • Yveltal
  • Reshiram
  • Dialga
  • Groudon
  • Ho-oh
  • Mewtwo

Pokemon Alpha Sapphire:

  • Xerneas
  • Zekrom
  • Palkia
  • Kyogre
  • Lugia
  • Mewtwo

It seems that Omega Ruby will be targeted at owners of Pokemon X since Yveltal was not available in that game, while Alpha Sapphire will be targeted at owners of Pokemon Y for a chance at catching Xerneas. While there was no mention of which mega stone Mewtwo will be carrying in each version, following the same logic hints at Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire granting access to Mewtwonite Y and X respectively. On that topic, there was no information regarding which of the entry’s new mega stones, if any, will be exclusive to one version or the other.

This marks a huge break in tradition for the Pokemon series as no previous entry has granted access to the mascot legendaries from every generation. It’s a welcome one though; fans have long lamented the constant need to transfer their previous game’s legendaries up to complete the Pokedex, and this goes a long way in alleviating that issue.

Adam Sparks

Hailing from Parts Unknown, Adam grew up with a passion for three things: Videogames, anime, and writing. Unfortunately his attempts to combine the three have yet to form Captain Planet, but they have produced some good by-products.