There’s always a time for drinking. That time happens to be Saint Patrick’s Day on March 17th every year. It’s the day where you can legally get drunk, I think. Thankfully being drunk lets you forget about all those things you hate. You know, things like politics, and your racist uncle, and your racist uncle’s politics. We all have one of those, right? However, no matter how much you drink, there’s one thing you hate you’ll never be able to forget: our opinions.

Yes, it’s the TechRaptor Game Review Roundup! Here we collect all of our reviews and previews into one easy to digest article. So let’s dive right in and show you what we hit up in the drinking month of March

Reviews

Dead or Alive 6

Summary: Another solid entry in a stalwart arcade franchise, Dead or Alive 6 doesn’t stray too far from what’s worked in the past. Whether you’re in for fast combos or buxom beauties, Team Ninja have your back. 8/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Dawn of Man

Summary: Dawn of Man has a couple of small issues, but it’s otherwise a solid game that’s sure to be enjoyed by fans of city builders and real-time strategy alike. 7/10. You can read our full review here.

 

The Occupation

Summary: The Occupation is a taut investigative simulation and stealth thriller. It’s infused with a realistic and multidimensional approach to mechanics, systems, and level design. This is a must-play for fans of Deus Ex and Dishonored. 9.5/10. You can read our full review here.

The Occupation

When the Darkness Comes

Summary: When the Darkness Comes is a surprisingly smart horror game that manages to blend in introspective narrative elements seamlessly. 9/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Devotion

Summary: Devotion is a story about a deeply personal tragedy made both more horrific and familiar with its carefully recreated 80s setting of a Taiwanese household that successfully draws on the feelings of nostalgia of its target audience. 9.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Far Cry: New Dawn

Summary: Frustratingly, Far Cry: New Dawn doesn’t deliver in any real way. It doesn’t pay off Far Cry 5‘s ending. It doesn’t offer new spins on the Far Cry formula. It doesn’t even offer players an escape from money woes. It’s just another Far Cry, and that’s just not enough anymore. 6.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Drowning

Summary: Drowning‘s story starts boring, if relatable, and ends on a note that left me baffled. I don’t know what the intent was, but this isn’t going anywhere good. 2/10. You can read our full review here.

 

RemiLore: Lost Girl in the Lands of Lore

Summary: Distilled hack-and-slash action with a surprising level of possible strategy makes combat shine in RemiLore, and an appealing anime style makes it a visual and quirky treat. 7.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Left Alive

Summary: Left Alive is a shoddily assembled mess with no real redeeming features. Its broken AI and glaring technical issues only serve to highlight the poor game design on display. 3/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Styx: Master of Shadows

Summary: A slow and steady stealth experience with a gross protagonist and stark art style.The puzzle-like approach to stealth gameplay makes for an intense ride along the rafters, even if the loading screens grate after a while. 7.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Trüberbrook

Summary: If you don’t mind some wonky voice-acting, there’s plenty of charm to be found in Trüberbrook‘s engrossing and rustic sci-fi tale. 7.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Re-Legion

Summary: Re-Legion has some fantastic ideas, but can’t manage to execute any of them in a meaningful way. 4.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Hypnospace Outlaw

Summary: Hypnospace Outlaw is the embodiment of the 90s internet culture. It’s a mindboggling, sometimes frustrating point-and-click puzzle game that will provide hours of entertainment through its clever puzzles and dozens of unique webpages. 8/10. You can read our full review here.

hypnospace3

One Piece: World Seeker

Summary: Although it’s filled with annoying moments, World Seeker is more fun than frustration. There are some rookie issues with it but the exploration still absolutely makes the game what it is. 7/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Baba Is You

Summary: Baba Is You offers a charming and unique puzzling experience that’s certain to challenge newcomers and fans of puzzle games alike. 9/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Devil May Cry 5

Summary: Devil May Cry 5‘s few minor flaws are blasted away by one of the best combat systems this side of gaming. Each fight is a treat, each boss is a challenge, and I loved every second of it. 9/10. You can read our full review here.

 

PC Building Simulator

Summary: PC Building Simulator tries to capture the PC technician experience and mostly succeeds, but it’s lacking some critical parts of the real-world experience. 6.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

A Song in the Void

Summary: A Song in the Void does nothing to further the platforming genre, and even worse, it barely a decent level of quality. You’re probably better off playing another walking simulator or Mirror’s Edge, depending on what you’re looking for. 5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Fate/Extella Link

Summary: While more playable and mechanically sound than the original Fate/Extella, Fate/Extella Link fails to tell an engaging and memorable story, thus falling short of the standards set by other spin-offs. 7/10. You can read our full review here.

 

The Division 2

Summary: Despite the bland and forgettable story, The Division 2 offers a sizable expansion on the first game’s foundation, providing an excellent loot-shooter with great combat, sharp AI, compelling loot, and a polished presentation. 8.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Pikuniku

Summary: Pikuniku is a short and sweet experience that’s fun, simple, engaging, and smooth. I can recommend it to just about anyone. 9.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Diablo

Summary: The GOG port could use some quality of life improvements, but Diablo shines through as the rugged classic it will always be. 8.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

X-COM: UFO Defense

Summary: XCOM: UFO Defense is showing a few crow’s feet, but for strategy buffs and alien aficionados it’ll pass the time more than well enough. 8/10. You can read our full review here.

 

The World Next Door

Summary: A fantastic story and presentation makes The World Next Door worth taking a peek at. I just wish the gameplay could hold up as well as those aspects. 7/10. You can read our full review here.

the world next door review nerds

Where the Bees Make Honey

Summary: Where the Bees Make Honey tries to convey its message through nostalgic childhood memories, unresponsive controls and a plethora of technical issues undermine everything. There might be something to the puzzles, but they’re weak and extremely buggy. This game is physically painful in its current state. 1/10. You can read our full review here.

 

We. The Revolution

Summary: We. The Revolution looks great, and the courtroom gameplay is interesting and kept me coming back. But, if you’re looking for a fleshed-out or comprehensive RTS experience, you’ll be sorely disappointed. 6/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Warparty

Summary: Warparty attempts to honor the glory days of the classic RTS, but various technical and design issues make it a lackluster game. 5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Vignettes

Summary: Vignettes‘ puzzles and charm manage to overcome a few segments that don’t work very well. 7.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Tropico 6

Summary: While Tropico 6 maintains the series’ humor and complexity, it sometimes gets bogged down under the weight of its own systems. There’s plenty of fun to be found here, but you’ll be left wanting more. 7/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Kingdom Come: Deliverance – From the Ashes

Summary: From the Ashes meshes well with the base game, and it might help you discover some overlooked side quests. The village building and management is interesting, but ultimately superficial. The conclusion feels somewhat anticlimactic. 6/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Crimson Keep

Summary: Crimson Keep does a terrible job of recapturing dungeon crawler magic. Instead of using randomization in effective ways, it just prolongs its runtime with padding, terrible visuals, and audio issues. 3.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

The Walking Dead: The Final Season – Episode 4: Take Us Back

Summary: Take Us Back wraps up Clementine and AJ’s story in a satisfying way, developing both characters and making sure the conclusion is worth sticking around for. Getting to finally put Clementine’s story to rest is a doozy. 8.5/10. You can read our full review here.

 

Previews/Impressions

The Eternal Castle

Summary: Yet still, The Eternal Castle immersed me enough to like it and makes me want to keep playing. It’s got the right vibes if nothing else, and now I’m nostalgic for the mythical past it hearkens to. You can read our full impression here.

the eternal castle screenshot 1

Beacon

Summary: From what we’ve seen so far, Beacon is proving to be an incredibly strong debut in a crowded field. After years of action roguelikes feeling out and refining the genre, Beacon feels like a natural progression of their work. With a no-frills attitude backed by a suitable challenge and immense replay value, there’s a lot to like already in Beacon. I can’t wait to die and die again. You can read our full preview here.

 

Ambition: A Minuet in Power

Summary: Ambition’s own ambitions are lofty, but the game is a long way from its coming out party. There is a hint of charm beneath its insecure shell that has the potential to blossom into a confident product. The question now is will it be able to navigate the world of indie gaming and court the right influence to become a power player? Time will only tell in the end, but Ambition is certainly a game to watch as it inches closer to release. You can read our full preview here.

 

Weedcraft Inc.

Summary: Weedcraft Inc is a solid tycoon game with interesting mechanics and a compelling narrative theme. I was a little skeptical of whether or not this game would be any good, but the fact that Devolver Digital went and commissioned this game specifically was enough to intrigue me. I’ve since spent 17 hours and some change slinging this Mary Jane. I can say with confidence that I am very much looking forward to its proper release. If you like tycoon games, you should absolutely keep an eye on Weedcraft Inc. You can read our full preview here.

 

The Sims 4: Welcome to StrangerVille

Summary: If you’re really into mysteries or are a diehard Sims 4 collector, this pack is for you. You probably knew that already. If you’re looking for something bizarre to play while waiting for the next episode of Welcome to Night Vale, try checking out Gray Matter or Oxenfree instead. Better yet, just go replay Sims 3. You can read our full impressions here.

 

Warhammer Chaosbane

Summary: Warhammer Chaosbane clearly aims at the co-operative market. Overlapping abilities and teamwork are really necessary to get the most out of the game. The narrative is engaging and captures the feel of Warhammer’s grimdark setting, which will make Warhammer fans feel right at home. Diablo and other action-RPG fans will also feel comfortable with how Chaosbane plays. This content in the first beta is only a brief look at how the full game has in store. We’re looking forward to seeing what other horrors await just around the next corner. You can read our full preview here.

 

American Ninja Warrior Challenge

Summary: American Ninja Warrior Challenge is a surprisingly deep and fun game and it’s worth looking into. It’s definitely not for everyone, if you’re not a fan of the show, rhythm games, or more casual experiences in general this might not be for you.  Still, American Ninja Warrior Challenge offers just enough gameplay, customization, and incentive to keep fans of the show, younger gamers, and people looking to play something in short bursts engaged for a long time.  Now go climb that wall. You can read our full preview here.

 

Lightstep Chronicles

Summary: While I didn’t get to see as much as I’d hope, my initial impressions of Lightstep Chronicles are quite positive. I’m already extremely interested just to see where this story is going. In addition to this, I’m hoping it’ll make up for the current lack of any text adventures occupying my life. I can check out the comic to bide my time. Who knows, I may accidentally have stumbled upon a new favorite. You can read our full preview here.

 

The Spy Who Shrunk Me

Summary: I love the premise of The Spy Who Shrunk Me: first-person stealth meets self-aware, TimeSplitters humor mixed with campy spy fiction. It just needs the substance: the narrative caches, the multilayered level design, the weighty feel and gameplay. If given enough of that, the final release of this game could be a worthwhile romp. As is, it’s as empty as the banana peels the guards slip on. Check back later, lest you take a fall yourself. You can read our full preview here.

 

Kingdom Hearts: VR Experience

Summary: Yep, Kingdom Hearts: VR Experience currently consists solely of two cutscenes, and it’s not even done. So… it exists, I guess? It’s free, so that’s something? A super fan may get a kick out of seeing a couple of cutscenes in VR? I probably could have spent the ten minutes doing something else though. You can read our full impressions here.

 

A Plague Tale: Innocence

Summary: Sadly my time with A Plague Tale: Innocence was over far too quickly. The first 3 chapters, including the prologue, ran me about an hour and a half and managed to show off a decent amount of mechanical variety. The combination of stealth, puzzles and fleeing gameplay gelled together very well, and the very occasional combat keeps Plague Tale from repeating itself. The gameplay elements are all tied together by a very compelling narrative and I for one cannot wait to see where it goes on release day. You can read our full preview here.

id 09

Book of Demons

Summary: While Book of Demons can be challenging, the overbearing impression I have is one of accessibility and playability. This is a game you can easily hop into for a relaxing session without fear of complications. It’s like a simple, fun, accessible pop-up book version of Diablo. If either Diablo-like gameplay or pop-up book, cardboard cutout aesthetics interest you, I highly recommend Book of Demons. You can read our full impressions here.

 

Generation Zero

Summary: No aspect of Generation Zero is remarkable. It feels like a hollow husk of an experience waiting to be filled in by players who will never come. Just like Fallout 76 or the earliest version of We Happy Few, it feels like an online test. Here is the open world, we just haven’t put in the campaign yet. It’s entirely possible that Generation Zero is a fine time with friends, but anything is fun with friends. There are literally thousands of better games and hundreds of other activities that are also better with friends. I implore you to choose any one of them over this disappointment. You can read our full impressions here.

 

Mortal Kombat 11

Summary: Ultimately, the beta left me with a great impression, leaving me even more hyped for Mortal Kombat 11. If the story mode shapes out well and the rest of the characters are as fun and varied as the five available in the beta, the game is looking to be an excellent entry in the long-running fighting game goliath. You can read our full preview here.

 

Numgeon

Summary: If you can stick with simple, you can glean from Numgeon the same light charm I felt when first starting. Avoid the mess of confusing and complex gameplay that takes a textbook to understand. Dive into Numgeon, click some numbers, have some quick 15-minute fun, and call it a CRPG day. You can read our full impressions here.


Samuel Guglielmo

Associate Review Editor

I'm Sam. Been playing video games since PlayStation. Favorite games include Ace Combat 5, Perfect Dark, Final Fantasy IX, Metro 2033, and MonsterBag. Also loves books and can be found face first in one all the time.



Videos from TechRaptor

Comment Section