TR Member Perks!

GOG, the online games delivery service, has announced that they are giving away 30,000 copies of Rise of the Triad for free today.

From GOG;

GOG.com and Apogee Software are giving out 30,000 copies of Rise of the Triad (2013) for FREE – to celebrate gaming’s finest Silver Bullets.

GOG.com and Apogee Software are celebrating the retro charm of FPS classics by giving away 30,000 copies of Rise of the Triad entirely for free starting at 4:00 PM GMT (12:00 PM EDT / 9:00 AM PDT /5:00 PM CET).

Rise of the Triad is a remake of the First Person Shooter title Rise of the Triad: Dark War developed and released by 3D Realms in 1995. The 2013 remake has gotten above average reviews, sitting cozily at 68% and 67% on GameRankings and Metacritic respectively, though IGN remarked that its commitment to retro mechanics hurt the game.

If you’re still here I assume you already have the game or have no interest in Triads and why or why not they are rising.

The GOG Rise of the Triad giveaway is first come-first serve and at time of writing there are 23,000+ copies remaining. When the free copies are exhausted, Rise of the Triad will remain on sale for 80% as part of a First Person Shooter sale with a selection of other classic FPS titles. Also on sale are SiN Gold, Aliens Vs Predator Classic 2000 and a personal favorite of this writer, Unreal Tournament 2004.

GOG also announced that the DRM free version of Rise of the Triad will be receiving an important technical update, allowing gamers on GOG and Steam to face off on equal footing. If you want to know more about Rise of the Triad before you go through the trouble of accepting a free game, check out this look by our own Perry Ruhland.

So Raptors, will you be grabbing your free copy of Rise of the Triad? Is anyone even still here reading this? Hello? Well I’ll be here if you need me.

[UPDATE] Well that was fast! It seems gamers like free games and GOG has run through all 30,000 keys for Rise of the Triad. The game remains for sale at 80% off however.


Wyatt Hnatiw

Staff Writer

Wyatt Hnatiw is a lifelong gamer with a borderline inappropriate love of BioWare RPGs and Bioshock. Maybe he just loves the prefix Bio...