TR Member Perks!

Blizzard Entertainment has today disqualified Team Ambush from the college eSports tournament, Heroes of the Dorm.

In a recent blog post from the tournament admins of Blizzard Entertainment, the Harvard based team has been reported due to a team member sharing his account with another user. This “higher-rated player” was not a registered player in the official tournament.

“We have zero tolerance for cheating in our tournaments,” Blizzard Entertainment wrote in their latest article. “The rules are in place to ensure a fair playing field for all participants—when these rules are abused, they put the integrity of the competition at risk.” 

Blizzard has also noted that the players involved in sharing their accounts have “banned indefinitely” from any future tournaments held by TeSPA. This news isn’t the first time players have been caught cheating in this years tournament, with Michigans Team Hot Boys also disqualified for similar reasons.  

Blizzards tournament admin teams are set to organize a match between UC Berkeley and Indiana-Purdue in order to rectify the situation. Winners of the match will then take Team Ambush’s place in the Super Sixteen round.

Heroes of the Dorm is an eSports tournament that is held for college students all across the United States and Canada. Hosted by TeSPA, and partnered with Blizzard Entertainment, first place winners of this years Heroes of the Dorm will receive paid tuition for college for the next three years, with more then $500,000 worth in scholarships up for grabs.

Viewers can tune in live on YouTube, Twitch for Round of 16 scheduled at 6am PT/ 9am ET March 26. Round of 8 is set the following day at 11am PT/ 2pm ET.  

Jason English

Staff Writer

Super famous games journalist currently based in Melbourne, Australia. Avid gamer, student, comic writer, and technology enthusiast. Jason has also heard every possible joke you can make in regards to his last name.